Missing the day of colours

Here I am Down Under, summer seems to have long disappeared all in all in the 4 months that I have been here, all I would have had is 10 days of summer the rest of it alternated between raining mornings,evenings and nights and sometimes days of it all together. Being sunshine girl from good ol’ Chennai it is difficult to get used to but I guess we will have to live with it as long as we are here πŸ™‚ Well having discussed the weather like everyone everywhere does, it’s back to the purpose of this post.

All those gazillion posts on FB and Twitter on Holi made me miss the fun time I have had playing holi the only two times i have played it. Growing up in Dubai holi was not really played coz i guess most of the time we would be at school and dont think mom would have appreciated it if we walked in with all kinds of colours and then the horrors of scrubbing her daughters clean that would have followed. However, we spared mom that horror…moved to college and the closest i got to playing it was in MCC just that more than colour I think I had silver and gold glitter stuck on my face, hair and notebooks :). 

So, you can imagine the thrill when people at work suggested we play holi followed by the awesome snacks( I guess that was secondary) that we got after that. I guess i had never seen so much colour all my life and all of it right at our disposal. Just imagine playing holi with a bunch of hooligans mostly the boys the girls in their own way finding ways to make ur face totally unrecognizable. I still remember most of the events that day i broke my chappals,had colour stuck on my teeth, nails and every part of visbile skin.

After destroying our office lawn and the walls and most people going back home our big boss stayed back and started cleaning down the walls, the verandah and every possible place there was colour and the rest of just joined him to clean down the office.We were definitely rewarded that day we opened a bottle of wine and it was long gone before we even realized.

It was a long weekend so we celebrated it days before the actual day and on our way back from Pondicherry,we were called to our colleague’s place to play holi..none of us had spare clothes and atleast I wasn’t sure of playing it a second time as I had to attend a friend’s wedding reception. Boy! the fun we had that night, in borrowed clothes, i remember being rolled on the terrace floor coz i somehow ended up being the only one wearing complete white..just to make sure not an inch of white should be left on me i was rolled on the terrace in a puddle of colour. πŸ˜€ Needless to say the shopkeeper in locality thought i was crazy to play it twice and then buy besan and curd to scrub it all off. I did go to my relatives house the next day as well the wedding reception looking all red despite scrubbing my two days continuously. πŸ™‚ the hair bled colour for a whole month and more,light coloured clothes turned pink each time we sweated it out in the Chennai heat.Trust me when I say this i dnt think I ever regretted my decision to play even once. 

I guess this is how fate would have liked to have it but important events seemed to be the order of the day with the wedding reception being the function I could not miss to the media FAM trip the second time where again I had to scrub myself clean  despite that i went for the trip with green ears and a strand of green hair. None of those journos forgot me the least to say the trip also turned out well.

There are no pichkaaris, gulals, bhang or friends to make the day colourful. But I do have colourful memories. I sometimes wonder I would have done if i didn’t have such lovely memories. I guess my days would have been longer here I suppose.  

How I wish I could fly in play holi and take the next flight back here.

Well sigh! all i can think of is the poem “If wishes were horses” just a few lines from it πŸ™‚ do check out the link if u wanna read the whole poem 

If wishes were horses,
then beggars could ride
and instead of being lonely
I could be by your side….

But wishes aren’t horses,
they rarely come true .
And all I ask is just
a touch or a glance from you.

 

 

So i suppose I will have to wait till my wishes can be horses πŸ™‚ And on that note happy Holi everyone and to all the wonderful women i know Happy Women’s Day. πŸ™‚ hoping someone is celebrating the fact that you are a wonderful addition to their lives πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Missing the day of colours

    • πŸ˜€ figuring out life at the moment! πŸ™‚ i keep opening WP.start writing posts and then quit half way! πŸ™‚ hope you are well! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

