Timeless…

It’s only Kerala.. that leaves in me this emotion that time has come to total standstill.Every journey that I embark to this place called home, its evokes in me a million emotions, some that reminds me of good times,some of the not so good, some of school, friends, crushes, and many of the meeting the prospective grooms.

It was vacations in Kerala that was the most looked forward to once summer vacations began those long flights from Dubai and the later those one-off train journey’s home..
Those umpteen shopping trips, goodies for all at home and home-made treats from grand mum& loads of new relatives whose faces at the end of the trip were all forgotten but the good times spent well-remembered. Also, the many firsts that we tried on those trips, Gold spot for one, Joy ice creams little cups of goodness, meat puff and Best bakery buns..these dearly missed once the vacation was long over.
Getting wet was a new first, getting drenched, running about in puddles all of it! its different living what u have only heard of! 🙂 The customary trips to visit relatives far and near..sometimes in an auto and sometimes in a rented ambassador..never could i figure the mechanics of opening the door and never could i understand why cars in Kerala never had ac!;)

No trip was complete without the usual coming together of the entire family, cousins of all sizes ;p and ages under one roof.. total chaos but super fun.. huge feasts, loads of laughter, shopping trips, sometimes b’day celebrations, sometimes christmas, cakes, carols and appam chicken curry b’fast and there was always space for more people around the table… all of it are now distant memories..
I have grown up and so has everyone around me.. more family members added and a few subtracted all that remains are those memories..those as I close my eyes come vivid and clear..I want to reach out n touch and bring to live moment those I cherish laugh n hold close each of it least they fade in my memory…

As i went home this time, retracing steps to familiar homes that are now empty nests, i feel with a pang of guilt for not keeping in touch with people who are part of my colourful growing up years.. as I walk down memory lane every time during a holiday all that remains wrapped in time are the house that are testimony to my many firsts, the old grandfather’ clock waiting to be wound and my grand mother waiting for the lonely house to be filled with our footsteps and laughter all over again. =)

P.S. heights of shamelessness but there is a like that u can click.. so like my post if u think its nice! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Timeless…

Leave a Reply

